We wish to acknowledge the following for their support

Thursday AM Coffee (\$750)

Iester Insurance Services

Diamond Sponsors (\$750)

ISG
JEO Consulting Group

Thursday Afternoon Break

Holiday Inn Des Moines/Airport Conference Center

Sapphire Sponsors (\$200)

DIXON Engineering, Inc. Southeast Iowa City Clerks Association Veenstra & Kimm, Inc.

Ruby Sponsors (\$350)

Bolton & Menk, Inc. Confluence, Inc. UMB Bank

Vendors

Armor Equipment – Johnston, IA
Banyon Data – Burnsville, MN
Beck Engineering, Inc. – Spirit Lake, IA
Bolton & Menk, Inc. – Jefferson, IA
Civic Systems – Madison, WI
Confluence, Inc. – Des Moines, IA
Core & Main – Grimes, IA
Creative Planning/BerganKDV – Urbandale, IA
DIXON Engineering, Inc. – Des Moines, IA

Dorsey & Whitney LLP – Des Moines, IA Edmunds GovTech – Northfield, NJ Ferguson Waterworks – DeKalb, IL Government Window, LLC – Kennesaw, GA

gWorks – Omaha, NE HR Green, Inc. – Cedar Rapids, IA ICAP – Clive. IA

Iowa Finance Authority (State Revolving Fund) – Des Moines, IA Iowa Municipal Workers' Compensation Association (IMWCA) – Des Moines, IA

Iowa Prison Industries – Des Moines, IA

ISG – Des Moines, IA

JEO Consulting Group – Ankeny, IA Jester Insurance Services – Des Moines, IA

Maquire – Sioux Falls, SD

 $Metering\ and\ Technology\ Solution-Norwalk,\ IA$

MSA Professional Services, Inc. – Dubuque, IA Northland Securities Inc. – West Des Moines, IA

PeopleService - Omaha, NE

PFM Financial Advisors LLC – Des Moines, IA

Piper Sandler & Co – Des Moines, IA

PMA Financial Network LLC – Naperville, IL

Prairie Event Supply – Mingo, IA

SAM, LLC-Mary ville, MO

Snyder & Associates, Inc. – Cedar Rapids, IA

Speer Financial, Inc.– Waterloo, IA

UMB Bank – Kansas City, MO

Van Wert Company – Grundy Center, IA Veenstra & Kimm, Inc. – West Des Moines, IA

Viking Industrial Painting, LLC – La Vista, NE

IMFOA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT

Tricia Maiers, City Clerk/Treasurer, Dyersville

VICE PRESIDENT

Brian Weuve, Finance Director, Pella

SECRETARY / TREASURER

Deb Wheatley Field, Retired City Clerk/Treasurer, Atlantic

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Darryl Ten Pas, Finance Director, Sioux Center Shelby Hagan, City Clerk, Bondurant Christina Eicher, City Clerk, Lisbon Dawn Siebken, City Clerk, Fort Dodge Chrisse Wiersma, City Administrator/City/Clerk, Hudson

PAST PRESIDENT

Trish Gleason, Assistant City Clerk, Dubuque

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Trish Gleason, Assistant City Clerk, Dubuque Karyl Bonjour, City Clerk, Webster City Erin Learn, City Clerk, Manchester



85th Annual Meeting Spring 2025

April 9-11, 2025

Holiday Inn Des Moines Airport/ Conference Center 6111 Fleur Dr., Des Moines, Iowa

PLEASE SET MOBILE DEVICES TO SILENT OR **VIBRATE**

IMFOA SPRING MEETING

April 9-11, 2025 Holiday Inn Des Moines Airport/Conference Center

Badges will be required for admittance to all activities.

It is difficult to meet everyone's need regarding room temperature. Please bring a jacket or sweater for your comfort.

Scan for Presentations & Handouts



aw

	1 touse string a facility	sweater for your contyoru	E-SEA COPO
WEDNESDAY, April 9, 2025		12:00 - 12:45 p.m.	Lunch - Courtyard
9:00 a.m 3:30 p.m. 12:00 - 4:00 p.m.	Athenian Dialogue – Room #397 Registration Desk Open – Des Moines Room	12:45 - I:45 p.m.	Notary Training – Olivia (Lexxy) Rhodes, Office of Iowa Secretary of State
I:30 - 4:30 p.m.	HR Seasonal Employees and Child Labor Law – Iowa Hall		Moderator: Tricia Maiers, City Clerk/Treasurer, Dyersville
	Maddie Huntzinger and Holly Corkery, Lynch Dallas PC	I:45 - 2:45 p.m.	There are Treasures to be Reported and Treasures to be Found – Dustin McNulty,
	Moderator: Shelby Hagan, City Clerk,		State Treasurer's Office
	Bondurant		Moderator: Darryl Ten Pas, Finance Director,
7:30 - 10:00 p.m.	Blank Park Zoo Wild Lights		Sioux Center
THURSDAY, April 10, 2025		2:45 - 3:15 p.m.	Break – Popcorn Bar - Iowa Hall Foyer
		7:15 - 4:45 n m	Closed Sessions: The Ins and Outs of

Moderator: Shelby Hagan, City Clerk, Bondurant		Moderator: Darryl Ten Pas, Finance Director,	
THURSDAY, April 10, 2025		2:45 - 3:15 p.m.	Break – Popcorn Bar - Iowa Hall Foyer
7:30 a.m.	Registration Desk Open – Des Moines Room	3:15 - 4:45 p.m. Closed Sessions: The Ins and Outs of Complying with Iowa's Open Meetings	
8:11 - 8:45 a.m.	First Timer's Orientation – Ballroom	Law – Maria Brownell, Ahlers & Cooney La	
9:00 - 9:15 a.m.	Opening Ceremonies – Iowa Hall		Firm
	Invocation – Karyl Bonjour, Retired City Clerk, Webster City		Moderator: Brian Weuve, Finance Director, Pella
	Presentation of the Colors - Polk County Sheriff's Department Honor Guard	4:45 - 5:00 p.m.	Clerk and Finance Certifications Presentation
	National Anthem – Roosevelt High School Gospel Choir	5:00 - 7:00 p.m.	Vendor Party – Thriving in the Local Government Jungle – Ballroom
	Welcome – President Tricia Maiers, City Clerk/ Treasurer, Dyersville	FRIDAY, April 11, 2025	
9:15 - 10:30 a.m.	Iowa Alcohol Licensing and You – Nathan	7:45 - 8:30 a.m.	Grab & Go Breakfast – Iowa Hall Foyer

7:45 - 8:30 a.m.	Grab & Go Breakfast – Iowa Hall Foyer
8:30 - 9:30 a.m.	Clerk Certification Policies – Certification Review and Curriculum Committees
	Moderator: Tricia Maiers, City Clerk/Treasurer, Dyersville
9:30 - II:30 a.m.	League Update – Alan Kemp, Mickey Shields, and/or Chelsea Hoye, Iowa League Of Cities
	Moderator: Christina Eicher, City Clerk, Lisbon
11:30 a.m.	Annual Business Meeting/Door Prizes

2024-2025 **IMFOA Committees**

ADVISORY COMMITTEE RESOLUTION COMMITTEE Christina Eicher - Chair

Erin Learn - Chair Karyl Bonjour Trish Gleason

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Brian Weuve - Chair

Dawn Siebken Christina Eicher

VENDOR EVENT COORDINATORS

Dawn Siebken

Darryl Ten Pas

Christina Eicher - Chair Shelby Hagan Dawn Siebken

PUBLICITY/WEBSITE COMMITTEE

Deb Wheatley Field - Chair Shelby Hagan Trish Gleason League Staff

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Darryl Ten Pas - Chair Chrissi Wiersma **Brian Weuve**

CERTIFICATION CURRICULM COMMITTEE

Tricia Maiers - Chair Erin Learn Nancy Earles Sara Shonrock

CERTIFICATION REVIEW COMMITTEE

Sally Hinrichsen - Chair Laura Schaefer **Tracey Mulcahey** Christina Eicher Barb Barrick

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Erin Learn - Chair Karyl Bonjour Trish Gleason

BUDGET COMMITTEE

Deb Wheatley Field - Chair Darryl Ten Pas Chrissi Wiersma

AMBASSADOR COMMITTEE

Shelby Hagan - Chair Chrissi Wiersma **Brian Weuve**

10:30 - 10:45 a.m. 10:45 a.m. -12:00 p.m.

Break – Cookies, Water, Soda - Iowa Hall Foyer From Review to Approval: Navigating the **Tobacco Licensing Portal** - Jessica Ekman and Jerika Pellington, Iowa Department of Revenue

Moderator: Trish Gleason, Assistant City

Beyer and Associates, Iowa Department of

Revenue, Alcoholic Beverages Division Moderator: Dawn Siebken, City Clerk, Fort

Clerk, Dubuque

Door prizes

Dodge